MDTA Police Honor top cops

BALTIMORE - The Maryland Transportation Authority (MDTA) Police held its annual Awards Ceremony to honor sworn and civilian members who distinguished themselves during 2012.

Officer Gregory Sampson was named the MDTA Police Officer of the Year for 2012.  A Harford County resident and 17 year member of the force, Officer Sampson received the award for his exceptional work and service while assigned to the Thomas J. Hatem Memorial Bridge (US 40) detachment.

More than 60 officers and civilians also were honored with Awards of Excellence, Lifesaving Awards, Chief's Commendations, Distinguished Service Awards and the Metal of Valor, among others. 

Award recipients were nominated by citizens or by fellow employees.


Print this article Back to Top