Creativity earns teacher $10k

TOWSON, Md. - A Parkville High School teacher is $10,000 richer, thanks to his creativity  and commitment in the classroom.

Ryan Twentey, a photography teacher at the school, is one of two national winners of the prestigious ASCD 2013 Outstanding Young Educator Award (OYEA). The award was announced Sunday at the association's annual conference in Chicago.

Twenty is a 12-year veteran of Parkville High School, and he's had a hand in systemwide curriculum projects as the school's career and technology education chair. He also produces course tutorials that help students learn instructional material at their own pace.

"In today's world, teachers must draw clear correlations between work in the classroom and work in the real world," said S. Dallas Dance, superintendent of Baltimore County Public Schools. "Ryan shapes his instruction to provide students with the skills necessary to be college and career ready. He's more than deserving of this impressive award."

As an Advanced Placement (AP) teacher, Twentey works closely with the Community College of Baltimore County to ensure BCPS students are prepared for portfolio reviews that allow them to earn college credit for their high school art classes. As a result, his photography and multimedia students achieve a 100 percent pass rate for AP tests.

"I am unbelievably honored and appreciative to receive this award and humbled to be recognized for what I enjoy most about teaching: empowering my students with skills to succeed," Twentey said. "I build relationships with my students to create an environment of support so that through our experiences and triumphs we all develop, progress and master knowledge, techniques and communication that help us conquer ourchallenges."

The OYEA award recognizes creative and committed teachers and administrators under the age of 40 who are making a difference in children's lives. Winners receive a $10,000 cash award, membership in ASCD and networking and professional development opportunities. Twentey was given the award alongside Tacoma Public Schools Deputy Superintendent Joshua Garcia.

Print this article Back to Top