Motorists reminded to follow the Maryland 'Move Over' law

GLEN BURNIE, Md. - Law enforcement is reminding drivers to heed state "Move Over" law in the wake of a Thursday afternoon crash that killed a Maryland State Highways Administration worker and injured another along the Baltimore Beltway in Parkville.

When it's safe to do so, drivers are required to move into the next lane when approaching an emergency vehicle from that is stopped and displaying its emergency lights.

If it is not possible for drivers to move over, they must slow down and be prepared to stop if necessary.

The "Move Over" law already applies to emergency vehicles like ambulances and police cars, but drivers should exercise the same rules whenever they come across an accident, disabled vehicle or road crew on the side of the road.

The law is meant to provide an extra barrier of safety for those working along the side of Maryland's highways.

Failure to obey this law will result in a fine of $80 and one point on a person's driving record.

If the violation results in a crash, the fine is $120 and three points.

"I extend my deepest condolences to the family who lost a love one, and my prayers of support to the family of the injured," said Maryland Motor Vehicle Administrator John Kuo in a statement.

Maryland's Move Over law took effect on Oct. 1, 2010.

Print this article Back to Top

Comments