Anne Arundel County middle schools to get three additional police officers

MILLERSVILLE, Md. - There will be three additional police officers based at Anne Arundel County middle schools beginning in the upcoming school year, County Executive Laura Neuman announced Thursday.

Currently, the county has 21 school resource officers with 13 assigned to the 12 public high schools, two are assigned to the Phoenix Academy and six are assigned to the 19 middle schools. The additional officers are part of the 30 added to the county as part of the Fiscal Year 2015 budget.

"Sadly, since the tragic Sandy Hook Elementary shooting 18 months ago, there have been numerous similar, violent incidents at schools across the country, including a shooting this month at a high school in Oregon," said Neuman in a statement.

"This should not be accepted as the new normal. I remain committed to making our schools a true sanctuary for our children to grow and learn, and adding these additional officers is part of my long-term vision for school safety."

This announcement comes at a time when other jurisdictions, including Baltimore County, have made adding school resource officers in middle and high schools a priority.

Print this article Back to Top