ANNAPOLIS, Md. - Talking on your cell phone and driving is going to get expensive starting next week, when new laws go into effect.
It is already illegal to drive and talk on your cell phone without a headset in Maryland, but Police can't pull you over just for that, yet. That changes Tuesday. Starting October 1 an officer can pull you over for just speaking on your cell phone.
The first time you're caught you will pay $75. The second time will cost you $125. After that, each time you're caught driving with a phone to your ear will cost you $175.
You can legally drive and talk on your cell phone, as long as you use a hands-free device.
Copyright 2013 Scripps Media, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
Buy Local Buy Maryland
Buy Local, Buy Maryland is a customer savings club that features locally owned businesses. Card holders can save money by shopping in the stores featured in this exclusive program!
Inside the Baltimore Police Department's watch center is the hub from which city police can view hundreds of crime cameras, pull up street corners and follow suspicious activity sometimes in progress; fancy hardware increasingly complimenting witty software.
ABC2 Investigators uncover Baltimore Police officers making huge amounts of overtime as the agency downplays the total amount spent on OT.
Scripps reviewed dozens of lawsuits and spoke with former insiders who all allege the companies that handle Berkshire Hathaway Inc.’s asbestos and pollution claims, wrongfully delay or deny payment to cancer victims...